6 Must-Have Certification for IT Network Managers

3 Mins read

6 Must-Have Certification for IT Network Managers

Today, as companies transition into the digital world, most have modified their business model to adapt to the information age. As a result, organizations of all sizes need IT, professionals, especially in the infrastructure and networking field. As the demand increases, this kind of career is lucrative for those who want to specialize in the computer networking field.

Moreover, suppose you are interested in being an IT Network Manager. In that case, you are in the right place because we’re going to show the top 6 certifications that will benefit your career. Don’t worry if you are a beginner or in the early stages of your career; all you need to pass and obtain these certificates is time management, practice, and self-discipline.

SASE Expert Level 1

6 Must-Have Certification for IT Network Managers

SASE Expert Certification is a level 1 certification that validates your fundamental understanding of Gartner’s Secure Access Service Edge (SASE) framework. It is offered by Cato Networks, the first SASE platform in the world. This certification demonstrates that you’re familiar with drivers, value, architecture, use cases, and network and security functions of the SASE architecture.

To take this exam, you need to apply to the Cato SASE course and pass the certification exam with a minimum score of 85%. Understanding of cloud, networking, and security have an advantage. Lastly, because this is level entry certification, no prior SASE certification is needed. Passing this certification gives you an edge as an IT Network Manager as it helps you administer networks with fewer complexities associated with the traditional physical data center.

CompTIA Network+

6 Must-Have Certification for IT Network Managers

The CompTIA Network+ certification perfectly suits those who want an entry-level job as a network administrator. This certification is a vendor-neutral certification; it sticks more to the generic networking concepts and does not focus on proprietary technologies. Suppose you are an IT manager who has been in a different field and got promoted to IT Network Manager. In that case, this will help you understand the vocabulary of computer networking because it focuses on generic networking concepts.

Before taking the exam, having 9 to 12 months of networking experience is suggested or an advantage. The type of question for the exam is multiple-choice, which has 90 items for you to complete. Lastly, to pass the exam, you need at least a 720 (on a scale of 100-900).

Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA)

6 Must-Have Certification for IT Network Managers

Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA) is the widely respected and known certification out in the field for most IT professionals. Moreover, this certification focuses more on Cisco devices such as switches and routers on configuring, operating, and troubleshooting.

Before taking the exam, it is vital to get formal training about CCNA certification. The exam has 120 items of questions that have an associated score. To pass the exam, you must have at least between 800 and 850 out of a maximum of 1000.

Cisco Certified Network Professional (CCNP)

6 Must-Have Certification for IT Network Managers

After CCNA, Cisco Certified Network Professional (CCNP) is the next thing for you. The difference between CCNA to CCNP is that CCNA focuses more on the basic to intermediate concepts and skills level, not unlike CCNP; these cover advanced subjects such as network design, automation, troubleshooting, etc. That’s why having three years of experience before taking the exam has an advantage for you.

Before taking the exam, it is good that you have passed your CCNA certification exam and somewhat three years of experience (three years of experience is not required). To pass the exam, you need to pass the core and concentration exams.

CompTIA Cloud+

6 Must-Have Certification for IT Network Managers

Cloud technology? Yes, as a network engineer, you have probably encountered on-premise and cloud infrastructure. Learning cloud concepts has its advantages. Moreover, focusing on a specific cloud vendor makes the certification a bit hard as it focuses more on vendor-related technologies. In contrast, CompTIA cloud+ is a vendor-neutral certificate that validates your network and system administration skills. Therefore, before jumping into different cloud vendors, obtaining this certification proves that you can manage cloud various related services and technologies.

Before taking the exam, it is recommended that you have at least two years of experience in the field but not required. To pass the exam, you have to score a minimum of 750 (on a scale of 100-900).

Exam 98-366: Networking Fundamentals

6 Must-Have Certification for IT Network Managers

Exam 98-366 is an exam from Microsoft. It is a fundamentals exam that shows your familiarity with general networking concepts and technologies. For IT Network Managers who have been exposed or have hands-on experience with Windows Server, Windows-based networking tools, and related network technologies, this is an excellent certification to prove your knowledge in the Windows-based platform.

Before taking the exam, it is good to check for updates for the skills that will be measured in the exam.


The listed certifications above can truly help your career; however, having these certifications by no means can significantly enhance your skills or become a God-like network engineer. Moreover, the result is still up to you; furthermore, these certifications as part of your credentials show that you are updated, willing to learn new things on your own, and gives an advantage and opportunity to climb the corporate ladder. Lastly, you’ll make your boss happy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *